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WCS Mission Statement




Nevada Statutes & Regulatio

Nevada Revised Statutes Nevada Administrative Code
(NRS) (NAC)

Chapter 616 A-D Chapter 616 A-D
Nevada Industrial Insurance Act Nevada Industrial Insurance Act
& &
Chapter 617 Chapter 617
Nevada Occupational Diseases Act ’ Nevada Occupational Diseases Act
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http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Nevada_Law/



Role of DIR/WCS - Impartia

Provide Assistance
— Answer questions, investigate complaints
Provide Information
—Education/Training
- All training provided free of charge
 Check website for dates, registration

—Provide workers’ comp process
information




Role of DIR/WCS - Impartial

Regulate Compliance
—Audits/Investigations
—Administrative Actions

* Notices of Correction
* Fines
- Penalties




WCS Organization

Primary Compliance Units

—Payers —Insurers, TPAS,
SIE, Associations

—Health Care Providers
—Employers

—L Audit Unit

* Audits insurers/TPAs/SIEs/Associations
* Investigates complaints

—[ Medical Unit (MU)

* Investigates medical complaints
» Makes payment determinations (appeals)

» Revise and publishes NV Medical Fee
Schedule

* Processes D-35 Forms/PPD requests

« Manages Treating & Rating Physician
Panels

» Coverage verification and compliance (C-4
Forms)

4{ Employer Compliance Unit (ECU) J

« Employer audits
« Coverage Investigations




WCS Organization

{Research & Analysis (R&A)

e Research and Analysis

¢ Other Units: Beneﬁt :;rgar::!\]I?qukers’fCompensation
Penalty, Su bsequent . Ee‘;‘;?fi'ﬁga Ll
Injury, Uninsured i

Employers’ Claim Account {
Other Units

_______/

» Benefit Penalty
« Subsequent Injury
» Uninsured Employers’ Claims Account




The Beginning . ..

.




* NRS 616C.015 y
* Incident Report — written notice of injury/illness to empl
* Completed by injured employee (IE) within 7 days from [
® Given to employer "
® Signed by both employer and injured employee




We Begin with the @s

C-4 Form/Employee’s Claim for
Compensation/Report of Initial Treatmentw},_;
* NRS 616C.040 and NAC 616C.080

® Completed and signed by IE and physician
(MD/DO) or chiropractor (DC)

® Sent to employer and correct insurer/TPA within
3 days

® Insurer/TPA has 30 days to accept or deny claim




We Begin with the @s

C-3 Form "Employer’s Report of Ind ustrls-,,_
Occupational Disease”

®*NRS 616C.045

* Completed by employer and filed with insurer/T”'
within 6 working days from receipt of C-4 Form

® Must be accompanied by statement of wages if IE - ’
expected to be off work 5 days or more

® Copy to injured employee




Communication

Workers’ Compensation Community includes

* Injured Employees/representatives

® Insurers/TPAs/SIEs/SIAs/MCOs

®* Employers

® Health Care Providers

® Attorneys

* DIR/WCS 1

x Without appropriate communication, we all fail!




Communication

7 With appropriate communication, we all succeed!

Appropriate communication requires:
® Timely and complete response

* Respectful of others’ perspectives
® Professional and courteous

® Cannot be legislated




Written notice of claim acceptance must:

® Be provided to IE, legal representative
or dependents

® (a) Written notice of acceptance of
the claim;

4 ® (b) A copy of Form D-52, Alternative
Compliance Keys Choice of Physician or Chiropractor;

- NAC 616C.091 il ——
® Copy to treating physician or

chiropractor (C-4 Form)
® Include either:

"Web address to obtain list of
HCPs

“Written notice IE may request list
of HCPs



Written determinations must include:
® Claim number

* Employer

® Insurer/TPA
Compliance Keys * Date of injury
- NAC 616C.091 * Date of determination

® Appeal rights

® Addresses of the Dept of Administration,
Hearings Division in Carson City and Las
Vegas



Claims - Medical Only

® No or minimal time lost from work (less than 5 days
within 20 days)

® Medical services $800 or less
® No lifetime reopening rights



Claims - Lost Time

°* NRS 616C.475
® Off work 5 days - consecutive or within 20 da

®° Entitled to compensation: 66 2/3 average monthly wag
® Forms

® D-5 Wage Calculation Form for Claims Agent’s Use
> ° D-6 Injured Employee’s Request for Compensation
.« D-7 Explanation of Wage Calculation

* D-8 Employer’s Wage Verification Form (must be
completed by employer)



Claims - Lost Time

Types of Wage Replacement
TTD (Temporary Total Disability)

Must be paid within 14 working days;
regularly thereafter

TPD (Temporary Partial Disability)
IE working at least part time

Must be paid every 14 days after receipt of
wage verification (paycheck)

PTD (Permanent Total Disability)
Must be paid monthly




Appeal Rights

® Required on every written determination

* Different appeal rights for different purposes
» Most decisions IE may appeal
- Billing decisions — only HCP may appeal

® Usually to Dept of Administration except medical billing
disputes

« WCS medical billing appeals authority
- Medical billing appeals mmmm) Medical Unit
® Always copy in legal representative, if any




Appeals Litigation

® Dept of Administration
 Hearing Officer (NRS 616C.315)
 Appeals Officer (NRS 616C.345)

® Further appeals:
» District Court

- Nevada Supreme Court — may remand to
Court of Appeals



Nevada Attorney for Injured Workers (NAIW)

®* NRS 616A.435-460

* NAIW may represent an IE without fee before the Appeals
Officer, District Court, Court of Appeals or Supreme Court

® May be appointed by Appeals Officer if requested by IE
® 2 locations:

» Las Vegas (702) 486-2830
- Carson City (775) 684-7555



Claim Closure

®*NRS 616C.235

® Notice of Closure must be mailed to IE and
representative, if applicable f

® Notice must describe the effects of closing the clai
and time limit for IE to appeal

* Insurer/TPA must provide Request for Hearing Form
(NRS 616C.315) |







More than
before about

the C-4...

‘




C-4 to Correct Insurer/

NRS 616C.040
C-4 Submission
by Medical
Provider
3 Working Days

—

Transit
Time
2-37 Days

¢

Insurer/TPA

Accept or deny claim
30 DAYS after receipt

27



C-4 Form Highlights

® Initiation of claim (regardless of receipt of
® IE has 90 days to seek medical treatmen}

®* HCPs responsible to send to employer and correc
insurer/TPA |

®* Document process thoroughly (or pay possible fine) _

or C-3)

® Must call insurer/TPA to verify correct payer



C-4 Form Highlights

® Top half completed by IE

® Includes release of information (Privacy Adz,*ﬂPAA
excludes workers’ compensation,)

® Bottom half completed by treating
physician/chiropractor

®* Only MDs, DOs or DC may sign C-4 Form

® Watch for notations referring to medical record for
additional information




When is Workers’' Compensati
Insurance Required?

If an employer has an employee, work
compensation policy is ALWAYS required (N
616B.633)! |




Employer Compliance Unit

Who is an employer?

> Unless excluded by statute, “...Every person, firm
voluntary association and private corporation,
including any public service corporation, which has
service any person under a contract of hire” needs
coverage (NRS 616A.230)




Employer Compliance Unit (E

® Responsible for ensuring employers comply
mandatory coverage provisions |

® Conducts employer site visits; employers must provi
evidence of coverage (NRS 616A.495)

* If an employer fails to provide/maintain workers’ com
coverage, an order to cease business operations may b

issued (NRS 616D.110) I



Employer Compliance Unit (EC

Uninsured employer investigations

Cancellation/lapse investigations
National Council on Compensation In ce

(NCCI) provides monthly cancellation list
Affirmation of Compliance (D-25 Forms)

Referrals or complaints
Random site visits |
[CANCELE
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Welcome to
Subsequent

Injury

* Purpose. To encourage employers to hire or
retain those workers who have a condition
that results in a permanent impairment and

reimburse the employer for injuries that are

sustained subsequently during that
employment.




How do I
qualify? How do
I submit for
reimbursement?
NRS
616B.557,
.578 and .587

All these require there be a combined effect
between the pre-existing permanent physical
impairment and the subsequent injury that,
substantially increased, the costs of the
subsequent injury due to the pre-existing
permanent physical impairment;

The pre-existing permanent physical impairment
must qualify for at least 6% WPI if rated under
the AMA Guides as adopted by statute; and

Employer must have written documentation of
Kknowledge of the pre-existing permanent
physical impairment at the time the person is
nired or, once the employer acquires knowledge,
they must retain the person in employment.
<nowledﬁe and retention must occur prior to the
date of the subsequent injury.




®* The Board (Self-Insured Employers or
Associations of Self-Insured Public or
Private Employers) has 120 days after
receipt of the request to make a
determination regarding reimbursement.

* If the claim is for a Private Carrier, the
Who decides if I Administrator has 120 days to make a
get determination regarding the request.

reimbursement? ®* Notice of a possible claim under these
sections was repealed on October 1,
2007. However, if the claim has a date
of injury prior to October 30, 2005,
notice of the possible claim is still
required.



All of these require there be a combined effect
What if an between the pre-existing permanent physical

impairment and the subsequent injury that
employee substantially increases, the costs of the subsequent
knowingly injury due to the pre-existing impairment.
misrepresents ® There must be proof that the employee knowingly

- - made a false representation related to their physical
thew_p_hys_;cal condition when the were hired and that this falee
condition? statement formed the basis of their employment.

NRS ® There must be a causal connection between the
616B.560, false representation and the subsequent disability.

.581 and .590 * These statutes require notice be submitted no later
than 60 days after the date of the subsequent
injury or the date the employer learns of the false
representation, whichever is later.




NAC 616B.760 to 616B.769 (Private Carriers)
NAC 616B.770 to 616B.7714 (SIE)
NAC 616B.773 to 616B.779 (SIA)

® These regulations govern how claims should be
submitted, the hearing process for the Boards and

Private Carriers and timelines for the Administrator to
review requests.

® Please note, the requlations for both Boards were
recently amended on February 27, 2020. They have
not been codified by the Legislative Counsel Bureau
as of this presentation.



Got Questions?

Subsequent Injury Coordinator
Vanessa Skrinjaric

702-486-9098
VSkrinjaric@dir.nv.gov



mailto:VSkrinjaric@dir.nv.gov
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Medical -

) ©
W

Essentials T



Use the Resources Availa_

Medical Treatment Guidelines

®* ACOEM Guidelines only
® Available online by Reed Group
® Separates conditions by acute/chronic

| —

® Includes drug formulary




®* NAC 616C.129, NAC 616C.143

® Require for all services with estimated billed
amount of $200 or more

® Required for all compound medications —
Prior see page 5 Nevada Medical Fee Schedule

Authorization (NMFS)
* All out of state services (NAC 616C.143)

*\Written prior authorization requirements
include notification payment per NMFS



Reimbursement:
Insurer/TPA
Responsibilities

Bills must be date
stamped when
received

Pay medical bills
accurately and timely —
within 45 calendar
days of receipt

May be sent to an out
of state scanning
center only, otherwise
mailed to insurer/TPA
addressin NV

No down coding =
reimbursing a higher
paying code shown on
the bill at the rate of a

lower paying code




Nevada Medical Fee Schedule (NMFS)

®* NRS 616C.260

® Sets maximum reimbursement for services
® Updated annually (February 1)

Reimbursement ® Access at http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/home/
- NMFS

® Includes limited dental fee schedule
®* EOB/EOR requirements
® General Information on pages 8-9


http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/home/

Catastrophic Injuries

* Defined in NRS 616A.077
® Duties of insurer/TPA NRS 616C.700-720

» Assign qualified claims adjuster, nurse, voc rehab
counselor

- Life care plan required within 120 days of “stable”
determination

- Personal meeting monthly with IE/family







What is a PPD?

® Permanent Partial Disability impairment
evaluation

® IE must be at maximum medical improvement
(MMI)

® Rating Panel of Physicians and Chiropractors

® Results in monetary award
® PPDs are not IMEs




Three ways PPD raters
assigned

Rotating panel
Mutual agreements
Court ordered

PPDs

=
) =
All PPD rating requests D-35 Forms submitted to
must be made by WCS must be completed
submitting a completed accurately to be processed

D-35 Form to
WCS/Medical Unit

D-35 Forms cannot be
processed until claim
indexed (D-38 Form)



®* D-35 Forms available on WCS website

® Claims must already be indexed in CARDS

Keys to - If not, D-35 returned; when indexed, write TK#
of (D-38) at top of D-35 Form, resubmit to WCS

P P D » Submit all required documentation together with
new D-35 (update request date on all

Req UEStS resubmitted D-35s forms)

® Mutual agreements require copy of signed
agreement and letter of representation, if attorney
involved



List all treating/consulting
physicians/chiropractors

Code body parts as specifically as
possible

e Use “"Comments” section to clarify
non-specific body parts

e Be accurate - raters use body parts
list to identify body parts to be rated

e Must be sent to rater with medical
records

e No D-35 no rating




PPDs - Restrictions A

® Chiropractors limited to rate neuromusc eletal
Injuries
* Injuries above the neck mmm) MD/DO

® All brain injuries (including concussions) ‘ |
neurologist/neurosurgeon

* Severe nerve damage mmm)
neurologist/neurosurgeon



Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

® Only mental health disorder eligible for
impairment rating

® Limited to raters who have received
PPDs and additional training to rate PTSD

PTSD ® Eligible raters noted on Rating Panel of
Physicians/Chiropractors
(http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/home/)

® Contact DIR/WCS Medical Unit if questions

° If both PTSD and physical injuries, usually
one rating by PTSD rater



http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/home/

Vocational Rehabilitation/ |

®* NRS 616C.530, NRS 616C.550

® Goal — keep IEs working while receiving me
treatment, minimizes disruption of life

®* Work with employers to provide light duty as early
as possible

®* Undocumented IEs not eligible: NV Supreme Court
(Tarango v SIIS)

Q \ il
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Vocational Rehabilitation Prioriti
NRS 616C.530

6 /Return to pre-accident position

/Return to pre-accident employer I

Position with another employer utilizing
existing skills

- 4

vocation
\ 8 4

6 /Provide training while working in another b

Provide formal training/education in } =
_another vocation
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Claims and Regulatory Data System

right!!!

Nevada Workers’ Compensation web portal
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Claims and Regulatory Data System

* WCS Internal System
®* WCS manages investigations, complaints, audits, fines, penalties

®* WCS maintains records of insurers, TPAs, medical providers,
employers

®* WCS creates the initial record for each insurer/TPA with basic
licensing info received from DOI

°* External Web Portal
® Tnsurers and TPAs interact with WCS

® Insurers and TPAs maintain contacts, claims office and TPA
relationship info, submit claims data (claims indexing) and run
reports

® Mandatory




7
Insurer / TPA Information Form
Claims Indexing (D-38) Form Submission
e Create D-38
e Update D-38

Claims History




« Controlled by WCS

« Up to 2 Account

EXTE RN AL Administrators per
Insurer or TPA
USERS

e Added by WCS via
Account Admin
Designation Form

e Controlled by
Account
Administrators

e Invited/Added by
Account
Administrators

e Provided permissions
by Account
Administrators



EXTERNAL

USERS

3 Steps to Becoming an Active User

e Must register online and activate your
account:

e Go to https://CARDS.nv.gov
e Click the link in the activation email

e Be “invited” or added by an Account
Administrator (or by WCS if you are an
Account Administrator)

e Be given "permissions” to access CARDS
functions by an Account Administrator


https://cards.nv.gov/

USER REGISTRATION
CARDS .- worvere compansaion sociion

Home

cAHDs Nevada Workers® Compensation Section Hello, Ruth Testt  Log Out

Home My Account

To access this website you are required to be associated with Nevada Insurer or Third Party Administrator (TPA). You are not currently associated with an Insurer or TPA. Please contact the Insurer
or TPA Account Administrator. If you are the Account Administrator, contact the Workers Compensation Section, Research & Analysis Unit at 702-486-3080.

Home | Contact Us Privacy Policy Terms and Conditions

Copyright €201% State of Mevada - All Rights Ressrved

Password Password Requirements

! Must be at least 8 characters long
! Contain cne upper case letter
! Contain cne number

Confirm
password

Cancel




User access

Insurer Account Administrators Control
Individual User Access and Permissions
“Linked” TPA Access — Global vs. Individual

TPA Account Administrators Control
Only Individual User Access and Permissions



e Insurers:
o Insurer Information Form
o Claims Indexing (D-38) Form Submission
»Create D-38
»Update D-38
o Claims History
o Reports
o User Access (Account Administrators Only)
e TPAs:
o TPA Information Form
o User Access (Account Administrators Only)



INSURER / INFORMATION FORM

Insurer and TPA Info Forms are required to be
completed on the CARDS portal

Insurers and TPAs maintain contact/location
information

IMPORTANT: Insurers “link” their related TPA(s)



D-38 (claims indexing)

Reporting Triggers
® Initial Report:
® Within 30 days of acceptance or denial

® Update Reports:
® Claim type changes (Medical Only to Lost

Time)
® Closure/Reopening

* Benefit Type Changes (TTD to PPD, TTD to
Vocational Rehabilitation, etc.)

® Corrections or Updates (Body Parts, Employer
info, etc.)




cARDs NMevada Workers’ Compensation Section Hello, Kristine Garcia! Log C

Home My Account

Claim Submissions

Date of
Ticket# = Status = Status Date « Submitted By = Claim#=< SSN (Last4) = Injury = Insurer
filter filter filter filter filter filter filter filter
TK-0186-361 Pending 3/20/2019 1:19 PM krissi.garcia@' Boulevard
Insurance
TK-0015-160 Approved 4/19/2018 1:57 PM Byauss@ 1111111111111 99399 1/1/1800 Boulevard
Insurance
TK-0007-593 Rejected 5/4/2017 5:28 PM Byauss@! Boulevard
Insurance

Showing 1 to 3 of 3 entries !

Filing History
Ticket# & Submission Type & Insurer/TPA & Filing Date » Filed By &
filter filter filter filter filter
TK-0167-419 RAU - Insurer Information Form Boulevard Insurance 1/23/2019 10:25 AM Ruth Ryan

RAU - Claim History Form Boulevard Insurance 4/19/2017 10:23 AM Brian Yauss
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Search This Site
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New Actuarial Annuity Table
Adopted, effective 7/1/19
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SB 377 (2019) - Notice of
Suspension of Annual PT Data Call
(7/3/19)

(V]

Forms and Worksheets

(V]

WCS Contacts

(V]

Questions? - Please Use WCSHelp

INSURER AND
PA REPORTING

EMPLOYERS

© Current Rating Panel

© Current Treating Panel

© 2019 Medical Fee Schedule
© D-35 Form

© The Pulse Medical Unit
Newsletters

© Northern Complaint Form
© Southern Complaint Form
© Appeal Rights

© Claim Reopening

© Nevada Attorney for Injured
Workers

© Time Frames

© Standard Audit Requirements
© Subsequent Injury Accounts

© CARDS Brochure

© Employee Leasing Company
(PEQ)

© Posting Requirements

© SilverFlume

© Claims Indexing (D-38) Brochure® Uninsured Employers

© WC Loss Control Service
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. Nv*m Agencies Jobs
e of Nevada Department of Business & Indu ===

- .dustrlal Relatlons (DIR) Custom Search ]

' Search This Site © Ssarch All Sites
ADA Assistance E PRINT

0 CLAIMS AND REGULATORY DATA SYSTEM (CARDS)

CARDS WEB PORTAL REGISTRATION / LOGIN PAGE
CARDS WEE PORTAL USER MANUAL
CARDS BROCHURE

IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENTS




NEED HELP? CONTACT US!

NEED HELP WITH CARDS?

Download the External User Manual: CARDS WEB PORTAL USER MANUAL

Direct questions as follows:

CARDS related send to CARDS@dir.nv.gov (login, password, general system issues)

D-38/CLAIMS INDEXING related send to indexing@dir.nv.gov (claims indexing guidance and questions)




Yhe “Ontangled” WEB
we weedve . . .



http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/home/
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WCS Website

dir.nv. gov/WCS/Home
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O Search This Site O Search Al Site
ADA Assistancs PRINT

What's Hot!
© Hearings / Workshops / Meetings
© Current Newstetter
© Training
© Important Changes
© Join our Mailing List

© WCS Treating Pane
Application/instructions & Key Info

© PTD & Survivors' Benefits COLAs
Information

© FY21 Maximum Compensation -
Effective 7/1/2020

© New Actuarial Annuity Table
Adopted - Effective 7/1/2020

© CARDS Web Portal Updates -
September 2020

© CARDS Web Portal Updates - July
2020

© Division of Insurance WC FAQs
© Forms and Worksheets
© WCS Contacts

© Questions? - Piease Use WCSHelp

© PFublic Records Policy

All Forms

Join WCS Mailing List

Important Changes

Newsletters

Brochures

Training

Links to:
« WCSHELP
« NRS & NAC




CARDS - cards@dir.nv.gov
CARDS portal

CLAIMS INDEXING - indexing@dir.nv.qov
claims indexing

RESEARCH & ANALYSIS — WCSEDUTNG@dir.nv.gov =
training, annual Workers’ Comp Educational Confere

RESEARCH & ANALYSIS - WCSRA@dir.nv.gov
data calls, reporting

WCS HELP - WCSHelp@dir.nv.qgov
Questions related to all other issues



mailto:cards@dir.nv.gov
mailto:indexing@dir.nv.gov
mailto:WCSEDUTNG@dir.nv.gov
mailto:WCSRA@dir.nv.gov
mailto:WCSHelp@business.nv.gov

WCS Contacts

LAS VEGAS

Main (702) 486-9080
Fax (702) 486-8712

Medical Unit (702) 486-9080
Fax (702) 486-8713

C-4s/Proof of Coverage (POC) (702) 486-9080
D-35 Forms

Employer Compliance Unit (702) 486-9080

Fax (702) 486-9174
Audit Unit (702) 486-9080
Fax (702) 486-8712

Research and Analysis

Education Si.garciz 3
Subsequent Injury ia 486-909
CARSON CITY |

Main (775) 624-7270
Fax (775) 684-6305

Medical Unit (775) 684-72

Employer Compliance Unit

(775) 684-7270
Fax  (775) 687-3073

Audit Unit (775) 684-7270



mailto:medunit@business.nv.gov

Don’t Forget. ..

Please fill out the Evaluation Online:

http://dir.nv.qov/WCS/Training/

Lo i TRAINING
& Industry NV Agencies Jobs Feedback - O
l On S (D | R) Custom Search = 2020 Training Schedule
— = Training Registration Form
( Search This Site ' Search All Sites Delving into the D-35
ADA Assistance E - = D35 Training

= Body Part Code
= [-35 Error Fax Cover Sheet

COLAs for Permanent Total Disability & Survivors’ Benefits Training Material

= COLAs for Permanent Total Disability & Survivors' Benefits Training Material
| ' 1 = PTD Verification Form Draft
What's Hot! = Survivors Verification Form Draft

e = 2019 COLA Legislation- Notice to Insurers and TPAs (11/19)

Hearings / Workshops / Meetings ) ) o
Senate Bill 381 (2019) Implementation Training

2020 Training Surveys

= Basic Orientation AM Session October 15, 2020
= Basic Orientation PM Session October 15 2020

© Current Newslettery = = Senate Bill 381
) Traini Training Documents
faining = WCS Orientation Training Presentation
= (C-4 and Coverage Verification Training Presentation
e Important Changes = Nedical Billing Presentation
. . . 5 = WCS Employer Compliance Presentation
© Join our Mailing List » Training Brochure

Adopted Amendment of NAC
616C.502 and Repeal of NAC
616C.498 (LCB File No. R127-17)
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http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Training/

Upcoming WCS Trainings
2020 Trainina Sescsions

The following classes will be taught online via
Webex

Delving into the D-35
C-4 Process & Using CVS
November 4, 2020 at 9:00 am

Medical Billing
November 4, 2020 at 1:30 pm

To view or register for classes
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Trainin

Or email

krissi.garcia@dir.nv.gov



—

y

M)
il
1
S
{1
) {
2 il
k)
i
f
-
-
=
=
=
=
=
=
S
=

///34/////*"' i

Thank You!

DIR/WCS
702-486-9080
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